6 Comments

Happy Halloween Eve, Fictionistas! 2 topical notes, as the time-difference means I can't join tonight.

First- I'd love to hear what everyone's writing for Halloween- my first ghost story is happily published in the Halloween 2023 issue of Mystic Owl Magazine:

https://mysticowlmag.com/my-halloween-at-the-revival-society/

Second- literary/musical event tip: for those in the Baltimore area, The website of the Poe Society notes they will have a Halloween event with pipe organs and theatre, at the Poe grave at 6pm tomorrown. I don't know this group, but imagine such an event will draw lovers of genre literature and might be good fun; the Poe Society page links to this for more details: https://www.westminsterhall.org/calendar

Have a hapy Halloween, and enjoyable writing, all- CD

Expand full comment

I’m from New York. I just recently visited an old house of Poe’s in the Bronx. My friend and I got a private tour of the place. Tiny, but well-preserved.

Expand full comment

That sounds like a fun thing to do around Halloween. Where I live there are occasional cemetery tours, where they talk about some of the folks who died, and their contributions to the local municipalities. I think that would be fun.

Expand full comment

I published a post today about my experience reading The Haunting of Hill House. No plot spoilers and no requirement to have read the book. If you like "psychology of fiction" essays, this is for you! https://open.substack.com/pub/thingsnoonecaresaboutbutme/p/when-the-haunting-and-the-haunted?utm_source=share&utm_medium=android&r=789qr. Halloween plans include passing out candy and trick or treating with my 9 year old whose costume consists of an oversized burlap wolf scarecrow mask that he can barely see out of.

Expand full comment

As my kids have gotten older, I much prefer to hand out Halloween candy to the little ones and remember when they were young. It's fun to hear the siren announce the beginning of the festivities and watch the neighborhood come alive. Several of our neighbors go all out and decorate their entire house and yard. It's nice to live in an area where we can enjoy the festivities for a month. We try to watch The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown at least once. 🎃

I hope you all have a safe and happy Halloween!

Expand full comment

Personally I love handing out candy. The kids are so cute. But I'll be taking my kids out truck or treating... my kids are also cute, but it's less novel cuteness.

I have some deadlines approaching, so a lot of catch-up writing, not as much creative writing.

Expand full comment