26 Comments
Nov 27, 2023Liked by Jackie Dana, Chevanne Scordinsky, Alexx Hart

Okay, so all the virtual hugs, countless tea cups and my whining on substack helped. I’m 45k in. Still about 15k to go. My goal is 60k. And boy oh boy, is this story taking me places. It has become journey of emotions and research. The story has taken me from US to Madeira island, to Bordeaux France, next will be Paris and them back to US (mentally, not physically). I still have to do a lot of research, whatch some modern circus shows, etc. I’m actually serializing the story here on Substack, but I’m way ahead of the chapters here.

Expand full comment
author

That’s so awesome to hear! Heeee I hear ya on the research needed. I have a boatload of chapters that have words in ALL CAPS-- my signal to name a character or location later, research a date or something, or generally replace cliched crap with something worth sharing with humans instead of only my dust bunnies. 🤣🤪🙃 All in the name of finishing giving birth to the darn thing. Waving pompoms as you approach the finish line!!

Expand full comment
author

Well the good news is that you are just 5K away from the magic 50K. And hooray for another circus story - my NaNo project last year was set in a modern circus! Also, I've got aerials experience, so if you have questions, I might be able to help!

Expand full comment
author

💃🏽Go, go, go, GO!

Expand full comment
Nov 27, 2023Liked by Jackie Dana, Chevanne Scordinsky, Alexx Hart

I've written a little over 40k words, and I'm sure I won't reach the 50k mark by the end of the month. I'll achieve a fantastic start on a story lingering in my mind for a decade or more. It appears all I needed was to grant myself permission to focus and write, particularly the intense aspects. The writing is rather ugly right now. As I progress through drafts, I figure I can polish and refine it. I have researched some points, but I still need to verify others. Also, I'm still trying to decide on the names of some of my characters. The names of my main characters are set, though. My novel is a crime/mystery one, so I have a bunch of red herrings and will have to determine which ones to keep and which to discard. It all comes down to rewriting now once I establish backgrounds for some of the lesser characters.

Expand full comment
author

Shweeeeet! That’s still an awesome chunk, and better--the permission and impetus to get the darn thing out and keep going with it! Woot! Heeee--mine is in a similar train wreck state, pockmarked with red highlights, comment bubbles and FIX ME CAPS--description above. 🤪 Good luck continuing it now that you have such a great start on it!

Expand full comment

Good luck to you too, Alexx! It is such a relief! I actually started the process; now the words are there and I can do whatever I wish with them. It’s liberating!

Expand full comment
author

Yaaaaas!

Expand full comment
author

Congrats on getting this far and although you don't think you can make it to 50K, you're SO CLOSE! See if you can do a final big push and get over that finish line! And if not, no worries. You still got lots of words and that's a big win!

All the stuff you mentioned having to work on is stuff you can totally tackle in another draft, so don't sweat those details for now.

Most of all, you've got this!

Expand full comment

UPDATE: I made it! WOO-HOO! I locked myself away, only emerging for food and to walk the dog. My poor doggie didn’t get as many treats, but that’s okay. I wrote until almost 4 this morning, slept for 4 hours and then definitely had to take aforementioned dog out. Now that I am caffeinated, it’s time to see if I hit a vein of gold or coal!

Expand full comment

Thank you all for your kind, encouraging words! I couldn’t have done it without you!

Expand full comment
Nov 27, 2023Liked by Jackie Dana, Alexx Hart

Can't stop, won't stop!!!! Your joy is cheering me on!!!

Expand full comment
author

Eeeeeeee!!!!! Running around with my hands in the air like Kevin MacCallister. (Wut? It’s after Black Friday. Home Alone Season is officially here.) 😜 Go! Go! Go!

Expand full comment
author

That is soooo awesome! Keep going! And remember - November 30th isn't the end, it's just the beginning!

Expand full comment
author

Although I obsessively puked past the finish line shortly before Thanksgiving because I knew I’d get zilch done at the Parentals’ over the holiday, my characters tackled me when I woke this morning and demanded more words now that I’m home so...that’s been fun. I sprinted until I had to head out. Now that I’m back from the day’s outings I wanna get back to it but...blah. Paperwork and other logistics must be done so...NaNo words are bribery. 🥰🤓🥰

Expand full comment
author

I tried to take a bit of a rest day because the past four days felt like they lasted a month (seriously, yesterday I was like, was Thanksgiving just a few days ago?). It's been A LOT and not the normal predictable stuff. But like you, my characters are screaming at me to keep writing because they have STUFF TO SAY (and apparently a lot of feelings to feel, oh dear). Fortunately, this week is mostly quiet so I guess they will get their way!

Expand full comment
author

I hear ya. Trying to re-catch the flow has felt like learning how to double-Dutch since I got back. 🤪

Shweeeeeet... I love it when they do that, and wow, they even tackled at a time when you can actually do something about it?! That was nice of them. 😜

Expand full comment
Nov 28, 2023Liked by Jackie Dana, Chevanne Scordinsky

I'm at 54k. I still feel like I've got hikes and pockets of narrative to write. I figure I might as well keep going while I have the interest and I will be cutting a lot later.

Expand full comment
author

Absolutely! Keep going and write it all down. I end up cutting thousands upon thousands of words (I estimate that I probably cut the better part of a million words from my first novel but that was over decades so that's fair). And congrats on hitting 50K before the end of the month!

Expand full comment
author

Things have been going well for me. I'm 3100 words away from 50K, so I feel pretty good about my chances. I was reminded by a Facebook memory that I had 58K by Thanksgiving on my first NaNoWriMo (I ended up with something in the 70K range by Nov 30th). This year I will sail across the finish line early but not that far ahead! I'm hoping to keep going with the novel until I get to the end (some chapters near the end are partly done) as I expect this book to be in the range of 130K or more (my current draft, with existing words, is 84K now).

I did hit my midpoint and have stayed mostly on track but it's this part of the book where I will be the most likely to go off the rails, so I'm kind of curious to see how things go!

Also I have a very fraught romance as a b-story and it is tugging at my heartstrings so hard! I want resolution for my protagonist like yesterday but I know he will have to suffer for quite a while still. This is hard, ya'll! 😫

Expand full comment
author

Not going to make it, folks, but this is the longest composition I’ve ever written at almost 28k. It was a massive achievement for me because no matter what, I put something down. Started once at 11:30 and got the work in. I’m proud of myself. It wasn’t easy and it was my first go-round. I needed a lot more prep with research, some deeper character sketches. This was not the quick romp of short fiction but had slow parts that I still infused with meaning, still connected it to the larger story. What I know is this story can be something. After the first rough draft, I can come at it again and repair what needs fixing. It’s possible.

Expand full comment
author

That is amazing, Chevanne! And congrats on all those words. You're definitely a winner in my book (well, not my BOOK because you might not like being in that! 😂 ). But hooray for you and high five!

Expand full comment
author

Thanks! Congrats to you too.

Expand full comment
Nov 30, 2023Liked by Jackie Dana, Chevanne Scordinsky

I'm in a similar boat at 35k. My goal was (is?) 40k by the end of tomorrow. But that seems unrealistic as the most I usually write in a day is 2k max. Am processing how I feel about it and am comforted to hear that you're having a similar experience. I've appreciated your notes this month and want to echo the congratulations from Jackie below

Expand full comment
author

Thanks so much! Congrats to you too. 35k is a feat!

Expand full comment
Nov 30, 2023Liked by Chevanne Scordinsky

Thanks. I guess it really is... ha. Celebrating alongside you

Expand full comment