23 Comments
author

Hello! 👋🏾

I like to write horror shorts, slices of life pieces, and longer form science fiction. I also write personal essays. I started writing in earnest this year so all you see is freshly baked!

Thanks for bringing fiction writers together.

Expand full comment
author

Hey everyone! I’m Geoffrey, one of the co-founders of Fictionistas. I write Adventure Snack, humorous “choose your path” text games designed to be played on a lunch break. Looking forward to chatting with more writers.

Expand full comment
Dec 19, 2021Liked by Geoffrey Golden, Jackie Dana, Chevanne Scordinsky

Hi! I'm Joyce, and I write science fiction and fantasy. My fiction Substack is Martiniere Stories, and right now I'm serializing a work in progress, Repairing the Legacy, which is set in my Martiniere Legacy world.

Expand full comment
author

Hey! I'm Alex, a bilingual writer-translator from France. My Substack offers free short stories every month in the Fantasy / Science-Fiction genres (and all in English!) with a space opera serial due to launch at the end of January.

Expand full comment
Dec 19, 2021Liked by Geoffrey Golden, Jackie Dana, Chevanne Scordinsky

Kia ora koutou.

I'm currently only writing non-fiction on Substack (on science, society and the environment), but I'm now also doing some fiction writing and enjoy discussions about writing fiction.

Expand full comment
Dec 19, 2021Liked by Geoffrey Golden, Jackie Dana, Chevanne Scordinsky

Hi everyone, I'm Jon and I write the epic urban fantasy series, NYC Questing Guild. I'm serializing book 1, Guild of Tokens, for free on my Substack and serializing book 2, Guild of Magic, for paid subscribers. I'm also writing monthly behind-the-scenes posts about being an author and will be writing about my journey to becoming a comics writer next year.

Expand full comment
Dec 19, 2021Liked by Geoffrey Golden, Jackie Dana, Chevanne Scordinsky

Hey. I actually write a non-fiction coffee Substack (Roast! West Coast), but with the publication of two recent fiction books, the first two of a trilogy I'm looking to serialize some offshoot stories featuring the secondary characters from the books which travel/roadtrip/lovestory/finding yourself stories following the title characters, Eli and Jane. https://www.onewildlifeco.com/eli-jane-the-series

Expand full comment
Dec 20, 2021Liked by Geoffrey Golden, Jackie Dana, Chevanne Scordinsky

Hello. I have been serializing my fiction on Substack for about 6 months. My writing focuses on the persistence of love and art, and doesn't fit easily into a specific genre, so this is a great opportunity to meet other creators. Thanks for setting it up!

Expand full comment
Dec 20, 2021Liked by Geoffrey Golden, Jackie Dana, Chevanne Scordinsky

Hey, storytellers. I am Mark. I like to write whatever interests me at the moment. Typically, fiction, humor, and other creative writing. I write a wide variety of genres, sometimes mixing them, so I will stick with just calling it "fiction." My Substack, Mark Starlin Writes!, is a mix of short stories, a "space sitcom" serial, and an adventure novel (set in the late 18th century) in-progress.

Expand full comment
author

I suppose I should post here as well. I'm Jackie and I publish Story Cauldron, where I write about the ingredients that influence my own storytelling. I occasionally publish fiction on my free newsletter, and on my paid newsletter I am serializing a YA fantasy novel series called The Favor Faeries.

Expand full comment
Dec 20, 2021Liked by Geoffrey Golden, Jackie Dana

Happy (?) Monday, everyone! I'm John Gibson, a still sort of new substacker writing over at the Missouri Ozarker. It's mostly horror stories set in the Ozarks, with the occasional piece of nonfiction thrown in.

I'm excited to use the comments here as a primer to subscribe to some new-to-me substacks! First, though, I have to go help my wife get ready for the impending holiday visit from every last one of my in-laws. Talk about a horror story set in the Ozarks . . .

Expand full comment

Hey! I'm a fiction writer. My goal is to poke my characters with a stick and see how they react to it. I love writing about growing up/identity. Everything I write has some level of absurdism or humor. In other words my writing is really weird - from a screenplay I wrote where Big Bird and Jason Momoa are lovers, to the dream I recounted of a Mona Lisa obsessed homicidal goblin. On my Substack I post short stories and novel excerpts from my book in progress. --->

https://sethpool.substack.com/

I look forward to discovering you all!

Expand full comment
author

Rather late to the party, but hello! I write science fiction and fantasy novel which I publish weekly, originally over on Wattpad and now here on Substack. My latest is 'Tales from the Triverse', which is a crime fiction/sci-fi/fantasy mash-up about what happens when an overly-ambitious wizard accidentally punches a hole through three realities.

Expand full comment

Hey all! I’m Stephen and I’m currently serialising a young adult fantasy novel that I like to describe as “Narnia meets Naruto.” Wanted to write fiction for as long as I can remember, so this is me stepping out into the world of serialisation!

Expand full comment

Good afternoon everyone! I just started a substack newsletter last month called 'Behind The Crime Scene Tape' that deals with investigative techniques, various sorts of crime from personal crime, to poisonings, art theft, jewel heists, blackmail and so on. I also cover the psychology of criminals, the history of the tools used in investigations and various cold cases. Yes, there's lots of blogs and podcasts that deal with true crime, but Behind The Crime Scene Tape is different.

BTCST sprang from my research as a mystery novelist. Currently, I have in development a police procedural mystery set in the forest of Northern Ontario (Canada) that I hope to have a contract for by the end of this year. I also write short stories that span genres and non-fiction as well.

Good to meet you all!

Expand full comment

Hello! Chevanne, thanks for recommending Fictionistas.

I haven't started a Substack yet. I have a steampunk novel about one Dapper Sasquatch in process. That's what I'll start publishing. Then, who knows, maybe quirky cozy mysteries with a decidedly fantasy / steampunk bend.

Thanks for Fictionistas. I'm thrilled to have someplace to go. :)

Expand full comment
author

Hey everyone! A bit late to the party, but still wanted to say hello. I'm Anthony and I typically write sci-fi and fantasy. My substack, Quick as a Flash, is focused on publishing a handful of microfiction pieces and a flash fiction piece every week. I've also got some ideas for serials that have been churning for a while and 2022 feels like my year. 😁

Looking forward to spending more time chatting with you all!

Expand full comment

Hello. I am Mark Baker, an historical novelist who picked the wrong period (not the Tudors or World War II!) and so am seeking an audience for my novels on the Anglo-Saxon period her on Substack.

Expand full comment